St Mary’s is an architectural gem by Augustus Welby Pugin in the heart of Handsworth, dating to 1841. St Mary’s is a Grade II listed building with restored interiors, ornate carvings, heritage trail and exhibition. The Convent has a strong connection to the famous Hardman family of Hardman & Co, stained glass manufacturers, and also to Bishop Walsh and the Earl of Shrewsbury.
Picture (above)- Stained Glass (by Hardmans) in the Catherine McAuley Oratory in the Chapel, which depicts an aspect of the mission work of the Sisters. (below) Statue of Venerable Catherine McAuley and Rev Mother Juliana Hardman in the prayer garden.
St Mary’s Convent
98 Hunters Road
Contact Person(s): Jenny Smith
Admission is free but donations are gratefully received.
Scheduled guided tours are once per month (Wednesdays) at 2pm. Tours are by appointment, see ‘Events’ section of the convent website.
Visits and tours can be arranged at other times by appointment. Group visits accommodated.
Chapel space for meetings and worship
Lawns and grounds
Conference space for meetings and retreats
Residential accommodation with catering
Guided tours followed by tea and a chance to meet the Sisters.
Heritage material for education programmes
Arrangement of retreats
Partial Wheelchair access
Lift to all floors
Car: From City Centre follow A41 up constitution Hill to Hockley Circus roundabout. Take 3rd exit and continue up Hunters Road and Convent is on right hand side.
1.5 – 2 hours